Role playing

Role playing against bullying in the classroom

One number (role playing)


Miss Julia in Chekhov's short story titled " Οne number" represents the helpless human type who does not dare to claim her rights and falls victim to economic and social exploitation, which largely characterized women's behavior in the past. 
Chekhov sends a message to people to be  dynamic and to claim their rights otherwise they will fall victim to cruel and ruthless people. People should not be slavish but have dignity, self-respect and self-confidence

The other day I called Miss Julia, the children’s teacher, in my office. I had to give her her salary.

-Sit down to discuss your salary, I told her. You will need money and you are ashamed to open your mouth… Well… We agreed on thirty rubles a month…

– For forty.

-No, for thirty, I have noted it. I always give thirty rubles to the teachers… Well, you have two months here…

-Two months and five days…

-Exactly two months … I have noted it… Well, we have sixty rubles. We have to make nine Sundays… You do not work on Sundays. You go for a walk with the children. Then we have three celebrations…

Julia blushed and began to nervously crumble the edge of her dress, but did not say a word.

-Three holidays… they make us twelve rubles a month. Kolias was sick for four days and you did not teach him… you only dealt with Barbara… you had a toothache for three days and my wife told you to rest after dinner… Twelve plus seven nineteen that we take out, we are left with… Hm! Forty-one rubles… Right?

Julia’s left eye turned red and got wet. Her jaw began to tremble. She had a nervous cough, put the scarf on her nose, but did not let out a sigh.

-On New Year’s Eve you broke a cup of tea with its saucer… that makes two rubles… the cup is more expensive because it is a family heirloom, but it does not matter… so much the worse! We are moving forward! One day you did not take care of Kolias, the little one climbed on the tree and tore his jacket … that makes another ten rubbles… another day you were not paying attention, a maid stole Barbara’s boots. You have to be alert. That’s why we pay you… so we take out another five rubles. On the tenth of January, I lent you ten rubles…

-No, such thing did not happen, murmured Julia.

-I have noted it!

-Good…

-We make twenty-seven rubles, we have fourteen left.

Julia’s eyes filled with tears. Knots of sweat glistened on her nose. Poor girl!

8th General Lyceum of Volos, Greece

But I only borrowed money once. Only three rubles, from the lady, Joulia murmured and her voice trembled.. that’s all I borrowed.

Nah… I did not note that. Well, fourteen out of three, we have eleven left. Take your money dear! Three… three, three… one and one…Take them…

And I gave her eleven rubles. She took them with trembling fingers and put them in her pocket.

-Thank you, she whispered.

I jumped straight up and started walking back and forth in the office. I was possessed by demons.

-And why do you thank me?

-For the money.

-But, hell, I stole you, I robbed you! And you say ” thank you” to me?

-The others did not give me anything!…

-They did not give you anything. Of course! I made a prank on you to teach you a hard lesson. Get your eighty rubles! I had them ready in the envelope! But why don’t you speak up for your rights? Why do you stand like a fool? Can you live in this world if you do not set foot a little if you do not stand up for yourself? Why are you helpless?

She murmured a few thanks and left.

  • Translated by Nikoleta, Giorgos, Myrsini, Christos, Vassilis,Makis, Gavriela 8th General Lyceum of Volos
  • Role playing by Anastasia Kokkali, Dimitra Zaharia, Directors: Mihael Kammenos, Christelina Kalfopoulou

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started